- Delete files/folders found in target but not found in source
If this option is selected then any files or folders found in target location but
not in the source location are assumed to have been deleted and will be
deleted in the target location. You can ask for confirmation of deletes -
- Add new files/folders found in source and not found in target
If this option is selected then any files found in the source location
but not the target location are assumed to be newly created and will
be added to the target location. If check sub-folders is selected
(see below) then any new folders will also be added along with all their
- Ask for confirmation on all deletes
This option is only relevant if deleting is enabled (see Delete files...
above). When selected, before any files/ folders are deleted, you will be asked for
confirmation. When confirming you can either confirm (or deny) a single
file/ folder or all subsequent files/ folders. Note that deleted files are not copied to the recycle bin. The
deletion is permanent.
- Check sub-folders
If this option is selected then SyncWeb will cycle through checking all
sub-folders below the selected location.
- Check list of actions before final execution
If this option is selected SyncWeb will do the analysis but before
proceeding with the actual synchronisation (the
overwrites, copies and deletes), a list of all actions is displayed.
Individual actions can then be removed from this list. See Running
a synchronisation for more details. When this option is
selected the Ask for confirmation on all deletes option will
automatically be un-selected and will not be available (as it would now be
- Exit On Completion
If this option is selected then SysSync will exit as soon as the
synchronisation is complete.
- Silent Mode
If selected then the synchronisation will be run "silently"
there will be no interface with you whilst the synchronisation is running.
All dialogs/reports/error messages are suppressed
and any prompts will default to "Yes". This is designed to be used
with Log Files (above) and in particular to allow sequences of profiles to
be "batched" (see Batches).
All options will be saved and used as the default when
SyncWeb is next run.
Or they can also be saved along with exclusions
and the locations as a Profile.
Additional less commonly accessed options are
provided in a separate dialog accessed by the More Options button (see
Additional less commonly accessed options
are provided in a separate dialog:
- Auto Start
When working with profiles and running a profile by opening (double
clicking) the profile directly from the desktop/explorer This option will
start the synchronisation running immediately (see Profiles
for more details).
- Compare On
Select whether to compare files based on time or size. Time is the normal
comparison criterion - ie update if the source file/folder is more recent
than the target one. However sometimes it is more appropriate to compare on
size. This of course assumes that any changes will result in a
different sized file but this is almost always the case, after all the size
has only to be different by one byte. Important you will need to be very
careful that you select the synchronisation in the right direction if you
are comparing on file size otherwise the synchronisation will overwrite the
modified files with the older version.
- Time Adjustment
If your source and target systems are located in a different time zones then
you will probably have to adjust the times accordingly. This adjustment is
made to the target file time only. For example if your target system time
zone is 6 hours behind the source then you will need to enter 6 in the hours
field. If it is 6 hours ahead then you will need to enter -6 into the hours
- Log File
If you select Log File then each time a synchronisation is run full
information on the synchronisation will be sent to the specified log file.
This log file will be a simple *.txt text file which can then be easily
viewed/printed using Notepad or any other simple text editor. You can also
decide whether to overwrite or append to this log file. Overwrite
will clear out any previous log reports when a new synchronisation is run
and append will add the new synchronisation log to the end of the
file. Information in the file includes the time and date of the
synchronisation, the current profile, the current options, errors and
problems that occurred during the run and lists of file/folders overwritten,
added or deleted. Log files may often be used in a association with the
Silent Mode (below).
© 2004 Focus Software Solutions www.focussoftware.co.uk