Exclusions

Exclusions are lists of files that will be excluded from the synchronisation. When the Exclusions button is clicked the exclusions dialog will be displayed:

Files and folders can be removed from the list and to add files to the list click the Select Files button (now labeled Browse). Any files or folders in this list will be excluded from the synchronisation process. Note that some files may need to be selected in the target location and others in the source location. When overwriting files the selected exclusion may be in either or both locations. When adding files/folders the exclusion must be in the source location and when deleting file/folders the exclusion must be in the target location. If you think about it for a minute it cannot be any other way!

In addition exclusions may be specified using simple wildcards in the lower pane of this dialog. Click the Wildcard button to add a wildcard to this list:

*.ext exclude all files with the specified extension
name.* exclude all files of the given name whatever the extension
na?e.ext exclude all files with any character  in the third position eg. name.ext or nape.ext

If the wildcard appears on its own (with no path) then all matching files will be excluded no matter where they are found. If the wildcard appears with a path eg. D:\Data\CurrentWork\Courses\*.idb then matching files will be excluded in that folder and all of its sub-folders.

Another button labeled Lost Files (not shown above) may appear if any of the files/folders in your exclusion list no longer exist. This may occur if they have been deleted after they were listed for exclusion. Click this button to automatically select all of these "lost files" and you can then easily remove them if desired. Having lost files in this list does no harm but is a waste of space!

On clicking the Browse button an Explorer like dialog is displayed:

In this display files and folders that are already selected for exclusion are displayed in grey. Select files and either Add them to the exclusion list or Remove them, clicking OK when you are done.

Important Note: Exclusion lists are only stored in profiles. Unlike the options they are not automatically remembered and reloaded on the next run of SysSync.

 

© 2003 Focus Software Solutions www.focussoftware.co.uk