Running a Synchronisation

Select which direction you wish to synchronise in. Files will only be copied in this direction. Files found on both systems will have their dates compared and if the source file is more than 2 minutes (see note below) newer than the target file the target file will be overwritten. If enabled (see options) files and folders will be deleted on the target system if they do not exist on the source. If enabled (see options) files and folders on the source will be created (added) on the target if they do not already exist there. 

Note: The reason for the 2 minutes is that there are some strange time differences that sometimes seem to creep in when copying files from one Windows operating system to a different one. I have observed time differences of up to but not more than one and a half minutes on occasion when copying files from one system to another. This time is now configurable with the default set to two minutes (see configuration).

During the synchronisation process

When the synchronisation is started the selected direction will be highlighted as shown:
 
Also the bottom Execution window will report what it is going on at any time. Many features will be disabled during the synchronisation as changing options mid run would produce unpredictable results. The Exit button will also be disabled as you cannot exit SysSync whilst a synchronisation is running. The synchronisation can be stopped with the Stop button - note that some operations such as copying a single file cannot be interrupted once started and so there may be a delay in actually responding to the Stop button.

Note: SysSync must have full access to files and folders in the target location. If read only files must be processed on the target location the read only option must be enabled in options.

SysSync will first run an analysis phase in which files and folders on both the source and target are checked. During this phase the Progress bar will not update. If selected in options it will then allow you to check the list of actions (see below). Then the actual synchronisation will run and the progress bar will be displayed. This progress bar may advance a little erratically as different size files will transfer more or less efficiently. Smaller files will have a greater connection overhead, making it difficult to make an accurate estimate of progress.

Checking the list of actions

If the Check list of actions before final execution option has been selected, SysSync will check all files and make up a list of all files/folders to be overwritten, added or deleted and display the following dialog:

All the actions that SysSync intends to do are displayed (use the buttons to select each category of action) and, if desired, individual actions can be selected and removed from the list. Only those actions remaining will be executed when the OK button is clicked. Note: not all of the actual files or folders to be added will necessarily be displayed here! If a new folder is to be added or deleted then its contents (files and sub-folders) are not displayed here. All the contents of the folder will be added or deleted accordingly. However the final report will show a complete list of every single file or folder that was added or deleted.

If the Browse button is clicked a summary of all the different actions is displayed graphically in an "Explorer" style dialog. Click the Legend button to see the meaning of the different icons. Again, files in this list can be selected and removed from the final synchronisation.

On Completion

When the synchronisation is complete a report will appear, listing how many files were overwritten, added or deleted and how many folders were added or deleted:

 

You can view a more detailed report by clicking the View Details button which will give a new dialog containing details of exactly which files were overwritten, deleted etc.

If the Browse button is clicked a summary of all the different actions is displayed graphically in an "Explorer" style dialog similar to the one for checking actions shown earlier on this page. Click the Legend button to see the meaning of the different icons.

If, during the synchronisation run, any problems were encountered such a failure to copy, delete etc any files or folders the View Problem Log button will appear and clicking it will display details of the problems encountered. If there were no problems the button will not appear.

After closing a report you can still go back to view it again (so long as no other synchronisations have been run) with the Last Report button.

 

© 2003 Focus Software Solutions www.focussoftware.co.uk